The Attitude of Eachother

Land is nigh (A measurement of time)

Posted in Uncategorized by Michael Atallah on April 1, 2010

I compiled some rushes to display a short meditative with the music of Harold Budd. His music was an effective part of my visions out at sea. I had a great palette including Brian Eno, Carlos Jobim, Bach, Desmond Decker, Coltrane and Satie to help gauge what I should be shooting at any given time. Even while filming the scientists and artists I had a soundtrack already in mind for each scene. Maybe not as dreamy as this, but certainly effective. Now, as I work on organizing the footage here in Rotterdam, I’m going through each track I noted while on Sea Dragon.

This is the final morning of a 16 day burn across the North Atlantic. The island of Faial in the Azores Archipelago was just lathing the horizon. Beautiful mountains began to take form and the crew was awestruck. I refrain from putting the second part up here, simply because I want to keep it a surprise. There was just something about these images from dawn.

4:30 a.m

Leave a Reply

